The Northwest University Sokoto management has inaugurated the University governing council, chaired by His Excellency, Alh. Dr. Aliyu Magatakarda Wamako (Sarkin Yamman Sokoto). The event which hold on Saturday 24th February, 2024 at the Senate chamber of the University, show the formulation of 13 members council that cut across several dignitaries.
Members include:
1.His Excellency, Alh. Sen, (Dr). Aliyu Magartakarda Wamako (Sarkin Yamman Sokoto)
2. Prof. Ahmad Maigari Ibrahim (Vice Chancellor)
3. Alh. Muhammad Maigari Dingyadi (Katukan Sokoto)
4. Hon. Bello Muhammad Goronyo
5. Hon. Ahmad Abdullahi Kalambaina
6. Prof. Musa Garba Mai Tafsir
7. Prof. Mukhtar Bunza
8. Engr. Faruku Mayana
9. Alh. Bello Abubakar Wamakko mni
10. Alh. Jelani Kalgo
11. Alh. Aliyu Attahiru (Galadiman Gari)
12. Alh. Umaru GB Musa (Registrar)
In his remarkes, the Vice Chancellor Prof. Maigari Ibrahim expressed delight and appreciation to the founder and all members of the council. He said it is the role of the council to support the management of the University in the formulation and implementation of policies to ensure successful management by the University.
The governing council is expected to be concerned with public issues, adoption of best practices, monitoring the institution, improving facilities and infrastructure, that will promote teaching, training, research and learning.
Malam Zaharaddeen Dahiru, the head of public relations has said that the inauguration of the University’s governing council is yet another milestone achievement under the leadership of the University’s pioneer vice-chancellor professor Ahmed Maigari Ibrahim which will saw the beginning of a new dawn for the Northewest PROJECT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *